Open an Account

Tennis Betting - Wimbledon Begins June 21

Tennis betting excitement and anticipation has begun to build for the absolute most important time of year for everyone who likes to bet tennis.

Tennis betting for the 2010 Wimbledon championships will begin with opening matches on June 21 and run through July 4 in the ultimate tournament for those who bet tennis.

Even those who normally do not take part in tennis betting will have action on Wimbledon as it is an event that is the equivalent to golf’s Masters, the Kentucky Derby, and the World Cup.

Wimbledon is one of the true world class events in any sport and handicappers that enjoy tennis betting online will have the best players in the world to choose from and the likely renewal of intense rivalries all steeped in an event rich with history and tradition.

Wimbledon is the oldest tournament running in all of tennis betting and has been held at the All England Club since 1877.  It is one of four major events known in tennis as the Grand Slam along with the Australian Open, French Open, and US Open.  Wimbledon features a grass playing surface and is the only major tournament to do so.

There are several different tennis betting online options for gamblers with Wimbledon including Gentlemen’s singles, Ladies’ singles, Gentlemen’s doubles, Ladies’ doubles, and mixed doubles.  All events are single elimination in form.

The Gentlemen’s sets are longer and are a best of five internet betting tennis matchup while the Ladies go best of three. A total of 128 players are featured for each singles event while there are 64 pairs for the single sex events and those who bet tennis on mixed doubles will have 48 pairs to choose from.

One of the best features of this event is the intensity of the matches.  Last year in the Gentlemen’s singles final Roger Federer scored an epic win for the ages with the Wimbledon odds as he defeated Andy Roddick 5-7, 7-6(6), 7-6 (5), 3-6, 16-14.

It was a match that will go down as one of the greatest in the history of tennis and one that had all gamblers spell bound to the very end.

Serena Williams defeated her sister Venus last year for the Ladies’ title.